Our History

Collège Sainte-Anne opened its doors in 1861 at the instigation of Esther Blondin, founder of the Sisters of Sainte-Anne. Originally known as Villa Anna, the institution quickly made a reputation for itself. Enrolment grew steadily and the programs of study diversified. After becoming a secular institution in 1998, Sainte-Anne began to distinguish itself in the early 2000s by offering an international program and integrating technology into its educational approach. In 2011, Sainte-Anne’s CEGEP program welcomed its first students, and in Summer 2015, the Sainte-Anne Academy opened its doors to their first kindergarten and primary school students.

Photo: Our magnificent high-tech library in the former sanctuary

1861

Villa Anna

In May 1861, the Sisters of Sainte-Anne, a congregation founded in 1850 by Marie-Anne Blondin, took possession of the Simpson Manor. On September 2, Collège Sainte-Anne (then called Pensionnat Villa Anna) opened its doors for the first time to welcome 68 young women, 20 of them boarders at the school. In 1882, the institution was renamed Pensionnat Sainte-Anne. The high quality of the innovative educational program quickly established Sainte-Anne as one of the region’s best girls’ schools. Enrolment continued to grow as the programs diversified and the school expanded.

Photo: The historic Sisters of Sainte-Anne centre with the founder standing in front of the Simpson Manor in Lachine
The photograph was taken in 1887 before the manor and “brick chapel” were demolished to build the Sainte-Anne Sanctuary.

1960

Collège Sainte-Anne

The Corporation du Collège Sainte-Anne was founded in 1960 and declared an institution of “public interest” in 1969. There were no more boarders at the school after 1972 as the college reorganized its facilities to accommodate a greater number of students. Expansion continued with construction of a sports centre (1979) and the Marie-Esther Pavilion (1987). The 1980s were marked by a shift towards information technologies and the school accepting its first male students (1988). The college continued to evolve as an institution, becoming a secular corporation in 1998, and the last nuns on the teaching staff gradually retired.

Photo: Historic Sisters of Sainte-Anne centre
The college dome remains a symbol associated with the Sisters of Sainte-Anne.

2000

Collégial international and Academy Sainte-Anne

At the dawn of the third millennium, Sainte-Anne continues to distinguish itself in a variety of ways. Nine distinctly unique programs have been developed, an international network of partner schools established, an educational approach focused on technology introduced, a sports complex for students built, a training centre added and a modern high-tech library opened, just to name a few. The college continued to progress: in 2011, in the midst of 150th anniversary celebrations, on August 11 of that year, Collégial international Sainte-Anne opened its doors. The first CEGEP graduating class was honoured in the spring of 2013. On August 26, 2015, the first kindergarten and primary school students had their first day of school. Since then, Sainte-Anne support young people from kindergarten to the end of their preuniversity studies.
Virtual visit

Vision for the future

And now it’s your turn to become part of Sainte-Anne’s distinguished history. Leave your mark by taking a pre-university program focused on success and personal growth. Pursue your education in a program with an international outlook as you prepare for a professional future on the world stage!

Notre histoire

Le Collège Sainte-Anne ouvre ses portes en 1861 sous l'impulsion d'Esther Blondin, fondatrice des Sœurs de Sainte-Anne. Nommé Villa Anna, l'établissement acquiert vite une grande renommée. Le nombre d’élèves augmente sans cesse et les programmes d’études se diversifient. Devenu laïque en 1998, le Collège se distingue à l'aube des années 2000 en offrant une éducation internationale et en intégrant la technopédagogie dans l’enseignement. En 2011, le secteur collégial accueille ses premiers étudiants et l'été 2015 marque l'ouverture de l'Académie Sainte-Anne, qui accueille les élèves du préscolaire et du primaire.

Photo : La magnifique biblioTEC dans l'ancien sanctuaire

1861

Villa Anna

En mai 1861, les Sœurs de Sainte-Anne, congrégation fondée en 1850 par Esther Blondin, devenue mère Marie-Anne, prennent possession du manoir Simpson. Le 2 septembre, le Collège Sainte-Anne, alors nommé Pensionnat Villa Anna, y ouvre ses portes et accueille 68 jeunes filles, dont 20 pensionnaires. En 1882, l’établissement est rebaptisé Pensionnat Sainte-Anne. Son offre éducative, innovante et de grande qualité, lui permet de vite se classer parmi les meilleures maisons d’enseignement régionales pour filles. Le nombre d’élèves ne cesse donc d’augmenter, les programmes d’études se diversifient et le pensionnat s’agrandit.

Photo : Centre historique des Sœurs de Sainte-Anne
La fondatrice devant le manoir Simpson à Lachine. Photographie prise en 1887, avant la démolition du manoir et de la « chapelle de brique » afin de construire le sanctuaire de Sainte-Anne.

1960

Collège Sainte-Anne

La Corporation du Collège Sainte-Anne est fondée en 1960 et l’établissement déclaré d’intérêt public en 1969. À partir de 1972, il n’y a plus de pensionnaires; le Collège remanie ses espaces et peut ainsi augmenter considérablement les inscriptions. L’expansion se poursuit avec la construction d’un centre sportif (1979) et du pavillon Marie-Esther (1987). Les années 1980 marquent aussi le virage informatique et l’accueil des premiers garçons (1988). Dans un contexte de relève institutionnelle, le Collège devient une corporation laïque en 1998 et les dernières religieuses quittent peu à peu l’établissement.

Photo : Centre historique des Sœurs de Sainte-Anne
Le dôme du collège demeure un symbole associé aux Sœurs de Sainte-Anne.

2000

Collégial international et Académie Sainte-Anne

À l’aube du troisième millénaire, Sainte-Anne se démarque de moult façons. Il développe neuf programmes particuliers distincts, crée un réseau d'écoles partenaires partout dans le monde, intègre la technopédagogie dans l’enseignement, construit un complexe sportif qui abrite ses finissants, se dote d’un centre d’entraînement et d’une biblioTEC... D'autres faits marquants : en 2011, alors qu’il célèbre son 150e anniversaire, le Collège devient la première école secondaire canadienne certifiée ISO 14001 et le 11 août, le Collégial international ouvre ses portes. Le printemps 2013 salue sa première cohorte de diplômés qui, tous, sont admis à l'université et dans le programme de leur choix. Puis, l’été 2015 signe la rentrée des tout premiers élèves de l’Académie. Le mois suivant, Sainte-Anne lance son modèle évolutif du cours de demain, fruit d’une réflexion amorcée en 2013, pour mieux préparer les jeunes à affronter un monde en mutation. C’est donc à l’aide d’une vision pédagogique novatrice, efficace et pertinente que Sainte-Anne accompagne les jeunes du préscolaire jusqu’à la fin des études préuniversitaires.
Visite virtuelle

Vision d’avenir

C’est maintenant à votre tour de faire partie de l’histoire de Sainte-Anne. Laissez votre marque en optant pour une formation préuniversitaire privilégiant la réussite et le dépassement de soi. Profitez d’un enseignement bilingue progressif qui s’inscrit dans un concept international et prépare le chemin pour un avenir professionnel à l’échelle mondiale.